Wednesday, February 10, 2021

Relief funds for towns


Congressman Brian Higgins (NY-26) announced Erie and Niagara Counties will receive over $792 million in estimated federal disaster relief under the American Rescue Plan. The newly released data is provided by the House Committee on Oversight and Reform, which is overseeing the state and local aid component of the bill.

President Biden’s American Rescue Plan provides $350 billion for state and local governments with 60% dedicated to states and 40% for localities. Local governments nationwide will receive $130.2 billion divided evenly between cities, using a modified Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) formula, and counties based on population numbers.

New York State is estimated to receive $12.665 billion directly and New York municipalities are slated to receive an additional $10.64 billion.

Under the "no overlap" model...

Niagara County gets $41,000,000
The town of Hartland gets $738,748
The town of Royalton gets $1,387,879